Internet-Based Multimedia Resources for Online Learning

Just as in a traditional classroom, it is vital to keep online learners engaged so they are actively learning. One way to help keep them engaged in an online course is with the aid of various multimedia resources. Conrad and Donaldson (2011) stated, “By involving [students] in activities that utilize games and simulations, real-life skills can be enhanced and learning can be made fun” (p. 93). Multimedia can capture learner’s attention, engage learners, explain difficult concepts, inspire creativity, and allow students to have fun while learning. One approach is incorporating multimedia content in course materials (Cabrera, 2013). Two ways I personally incorporate multimedia content into my course materials is by using EDpuzzle and The Bézier Grame.

EDpuzzle
Edpuzzle is a site that allows users to select a video and customize it by editing, cropping, recording audio, and adding questions to make an engaging presentation (Kapuler, 2014). In short, it is a video curation tool that allows educators to transform videos into interactive lessons. It allows students to check their own understanding by answering and reviewing questions on embedded quizzes. Check it out by visiting https://edpuzzle.com.

The Bézier Game
The Bézier Game is a website that teaches graphic designers how to use and master the pen tool. The pen tool is a tool that allows you to create shapes with precision. Making straight lines with the pen tool is something very easy to achieve however; making curves (béizer curves) are somewhat hard to master. The game takes you through various tutorials, colorful paths highlighting your every move.

Another site that hosts learning games that teaches you how to use certain Adobe Illustrator and Photoshop tools is adobe.com. On Adobe’s website, there are several interactive learning games that teaches you how to use the line tool, how to create shapes, how to use the shape builder tool, and how to use the pen tool in Illustrator. You can check them both out at Adobe.com and http://bezier.method.ac.

 

References:
Cabrera, D. (2013). Integrating multimedia in your course. Retrieved from http://facdevblog.niu.edu/integrating-multimedia-in-your-course

Conrad, R., & Donaldson, J. A. (2011). Engaging the online learner: Activities and resources for creative instruction (Updated ed.). San Francisco, CA: Jossey-Bass.

Kapuler, D. (2014). Product review: Edpuzzle. Retrieved from http://www.techlearning.com/news/0002/product-review–edpuzzle/63512

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Angela Freeny says:

    Thank-you for sharing these helpful resources. I am especially interested in the EDpuzzle. It appears to be very hands on. I also like tools that allow students to have a review of information and answer questions and take quizzes. Is this a free resource?

    Thanks!!

    Like

    1. natashaneal says:

      Hi Angela! EDpuzzle is definitely a wonderful resource for teachers. It is a free resource for teachers to use.

      Like

  2. Nancy Brown says:

    I really enjoyed EDPuzzle and plan to keep it in my list of tools to experiment with in the future. I think this is a good tool for use with resources to make them more interactive. I tried the Bezier tool and, I must admit, I will never be a graphic artist. By the time I reached the heart-shape, I was done. Thank you for sharing!

    Like

    1. natashaneal says:

      Making Bézier curves are somewhat challenging. I’m always looking for ways to make learning and mastering the pen tool fun for learners.

      Like

  3. happyheart321 says:

    Natasha,
    Nice post!! Thank you for sharing these resources this week. I have not heard of EDpuzzle before and it really caught my attention as soon as I read about it. I think this is something that I could use within my courses that I teach now. I have always enjoyed editing and customizing learning material into something creative. This sounds like a great tool to use that can be very engaging for students in an online environment. I visited the site and have saved a link for future reference. It looks like it is easy to use and I also wondered if it was free. I found that it is free for students and teachers. Wonderful news!

    https://support.edpuzzle.com/hc/en-us/articles/206100411-What-does-EDpuzzle-cost

    Thank you for the information!
    Roxanne

    Like

  4. Darian says:

    EDpuzzle…Wow!! I really like this description. I am thinking about using this for my class. It looks like it will keep the learner engaged. Allowing the learners to check his or her understanding of the subject actually helps the learner study.

    Like

  5. educationaltechnologies2016 says:

    Reblogged this on Online Instructional Strategies for Adult Learners and commented:
    Natasha,
    I really like your post on Edpuzzle it sounds very interested in engaging students and educators to evaluate their own understanding. Also, Adobe.com is interesting as well because just about a little over a year ago, I started playing around with Adobe Photoshop and Illustrator and have become quite fun of it. I even order the text for each one so I can learn how to operate create images among other graphics.
    Great Blog!!!
    Tawanna Broadway

    Like

  6. educationaltechnologies2016 says:

    Natasha,
    I really like your post on Edpuzzle it sounds very interested in engaging students and educators to evaluate their own understanding. Also, Adobe.com is interesting as well because just about a little over a year ago, I started playing around with Adobe Photoshop and Illustrator and have become quite fun of it. I even order the text for each one so I can learn how to operate create images among other graphics.
    Great Blog!!!
    Tawanna Broadway

    Like

Leave a Reply

